RSS

Let me introduce you to…

30 May

So, this is it. The final challenge set by Ambermist of Taste’s Like Battlechicken. This week she tasked us with finding 3 blogs that participated in the New Blogger’s Initiative, aka the NBI, and give at least one reason we like each blog. Sounds easy right? Well, that is what I thought at first too. Then I realized that no matter how awesome the three blogs I end up choosing are, I will still feel bad about it. There are just  too many awesome blogs that are participating on it for me to just pick three!

In fact, let me point out to a list of the blogs participating on the NBI. There is one list here, categorized by topics, made by Windsoar of the Jaded Alt blog. If you prefer a handy list with each author’s name and tweeter, Shadowspnd of World’s End Tavern made one for newbies and one for sponsors. Check out the rest of their blogs too while you are there! :)

Alright. With that said, let me introduce you to three newbie blogs that have caught my eye for a reason or another:

The Butterfly Gamer

http://leelubutterfly.wordpress.com/

Everyone probably met that one person that can’t stick to a game for very long. Perhaps that might even be your case (it is certainly mine!). Apparently the term for these kind of people is “butterfly gamer”. And as the name of the blog implies, The Butterfly Gamer is the journal of one such person.

Right now, leelubutterfly is trying to stick to just one, to get to the level cap on Aion before Guild Wars 2 is released. It is interesting not only because of her writing (and screenshots!) but also to see her discover new and interesting things about Aion as she goes along. As someone that just started out in Aion it is interesting to see the experiences of another newbie in the game.

Of course, I am also interested to see what other games she will end up playing too. I guess that makes me a butterfly reader?

Ravalation

http://ravalation.blogspot.com

If I had to describe Ravalation in a few words it would be “a feast to the eyes”. Not only her posts are filled with beautiful screenshots (some times with her own drawings too!) but it is all accompanied with very interesting text too. It is like a combo of pure bliss!

Right now Ravanel is writing about Lord of the Rings Online, Mass Effect and Star Wars: The Old Republic. I highly recommend her blog to anyone interested in any of those games. :)

Kemwer Game Blog

http://kemwer.com.br/

While I do have a preference for blogs about people’s personal experiences playing games, I do also like a good discussion about them. Kemwer has been one of those blogs I have been finding myself reading just for that purpose. No matter the topic of the post it is always with a very intelligent and well articulated argument.

His blog (correct me if I am wrong, please, Kemwer!) seems to have a slant towards Guild Wars 2 right now. Though he certainly doesn’t limit himself to just Guild Wars 2 and has made a few posts about Diablo 3, Torchlight 2 and even some more general discussions about MMORPGs.

Wait! There is more…

Ok. So I can’t pick just three after all. Let me list three more blogs before ending this post. But to keep with the spirit of the challenge, in some sort of twisted way, I will just list them and let you find out by yourself what makes them great! It probably won’t be too hard. :)

They are also blogs that are participating on the NBI although as sponsors. Without further ado, here are three more great blogs that just make my day whenever they update:

Nerdy Bookahshttp://nerdybookahs.wordpress.com/

StarShadowhttp://suzitastarshadow.wordpress.com/

LotRO Fashionhttp://lotrofashion.blogspot.com/

My biggest thanks to all the ones I have listed, and for those I could not, for all the entertaining reading so far. Here is looking forward to  reading even more posts! :)

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Let me introduce you to…

  1. Kemwer

    May 30, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I do indeed have a certain slant towards Guild Wars 2 right now. “Write about what you know”, they said, and GW2 is most certainly the one MMO I’m looking forward the most, so I had a few thoughts to share about it, and will very likely have a lot more in the upcoming months.

    Except for extraordinary cases (like the recent case of Elder Scrolls) I’ll probably focus on GW2, MMO-wise, but I do try to talk about any game I’m playing, and right now that is Diablo 3. I should have a review of that coming soon.

    Thanks a lot for the mention, and specially for the praising, I really appreciate it. :)

     
    • Rakuno

      May 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      *nods* I wasn’t sure and didn’t want to misrepresent your blog. So caution seemed the best route.

      And no problem, all the praise is well earned. :)

       
  2. suzita

    May 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    thank you so much for saying that you enjoy my blog – that’s a huge compliment and I am still grinning :D

    looking forward to reading more of your blog (and your post on LUA plugins was excellent, I forgot to comment to that effect /slaps self)

     
    • Rakuno

      May 30, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      You are welcome. I fell in love with your blog since I saw your NBI tips and have been enjoying the posts and screenshots since then (Hm. I am starting to sense a trend here considering my list). :)

      And thank you for the comment. :)

       
  3. leelubutterfly

    May 31, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Thanks Rakuno! This whole NBI experience has been great, I have a swag of new blogs to read (including yours of course), and an outlet for all my crazy butterfly ways. Maybe if Syp runs this again next year, I can join as a sponsor :). Thanks again for mentioning my blog, very much appreciated.

     
    • Rakuno

      May 31, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      No problem! Like I mentioned, I love to read people’s personal experiences on games and yours about Aion has been a very fun read indeed. :)

      I am also hoping that Syp run it again next year. In any case the forums will still be around, it seems. :)

       
  4. battlechicken

    May 31, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    I had never heard “butterfly gamer” before, but I LOVE it! Some good blogs here, and a great post–thanks!

     
    • Rakuno

      May 31, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      Me neither. But it does fit and is a term I will use whenever I need to explain my game hopping habits!

      And once again thank you for the challenge and comment. :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

